Forums

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages 
Huh? What does that mean?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Fortean Times Message Board Forum Index -> Web site issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rynner2Offline
What a Cad!
Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Total posts: 25176
Location: Under the moon
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 17-08-2011 11:24    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh FFS!!! Evil or Very Mad It's happened again, but with a difference.

I tried to post a story about an 110 year-old woman on the Growing old thread when I got the dreaded "Could not insert..." message. And this time nothing at all has been posted, so I can't try my usual trick of 'editing' the post and re-submitting it.

This is all the more strange because I can't see any dodgy characters in the text at all, just a couple of uncommon Scottish place-names.

As an experiment, I'm going to try posting the story in this thread - if that works I can then try transferring it to its rightful home. But if not, the mystery will remain...
Back to top
View user's profile 
rynner2Offline
What a Cad!
Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Total posts: 25176
Location: Under the moon
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 17-08-2011 11:35    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trying to post here also triggerred "Could not insert...", but this time a post had been made.

I 'edited' it and resubmitted it, so it became a bona fide indexed post - which I've since deleted.

So, back to Growing Old...
Back to top
View user's profile 
Number_6_ukOffline
Totally Addicted to Tea
Joined: 19 Feb 2002
Total posts: 206
Gender: Unknown
PostPosted: 17-08-2011 12:11    Post subject: Reply with quote

Possible fix, but it'll need to be done by the Admins:
http://forums.theplanet.com/lofiversion/index.php/t85100.html

Edited to add:
The fix above may have been specific to that site.
Without knowing the FULL error message, which only those with access to the FT site's PHP logs can see, it's going to be next to impossible to track down.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website 
Number_6_ukOffline
Totally Addicted to Tea
Joined: 19 Feb 2002
Total posts: 206
Gender: Unknown
PostPosted: 17-08-2011 12:19    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another possible fix:
http://www.ktuk.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=3958

The same caveat as above applies.

It looks like it's definitely related to the code which enables searching - perhaps this also explains why the search function is somewhat quirky?
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website 
Mal_ContentOffline
Great Old One
Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Total posts: 801
Gender: Unknown
PostPosted: 26-09-2011 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rapport tells me that the FTMB site is insecure - dunno if that's important, but is there any way to tighten up security of info we input on the log-in screen?
Back to top
View user's profile 
YithianOffline
Keeping the British end up
Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Total posts: 11948
Location: Vermilion Sands
Gender: Unknown
PostPosted: 27-09-2011 01:49    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mal_Content wrote:
Rapport tells me that the FTMB site is insecure - dunno if that's important...


Of course it's important - poor old thing - we should all send her flowers and make encouraging noises from time to time.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website 
ramonmercadoOffline
Psycho Punk
Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Total posts: 20615
Location: Dublin
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 27-09-2011 11:20    Post subject: Reply with quote

theyithian wrote:
Mal_Content wrote:
Rapport tells me that the FTMB site is insecure - dunno if that's important...


Of course it's important - poor old thing - we should all send her flowers and make encouraging noises from time to time.


Maybe some white powder for the nostrils as well?
Back to top
View user's profile 
rynner2Offline
What a Cad!
Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Total posts: 25176
Location: Under the moon
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 10-10-2011 07:58    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had a few "Could not insert.." episodes recently (one just minutes ago).

As I had two FTMB windows open, I was able to use one to check on what I'd posted on the other, and it seems that, somewhere between me hitting Submit and the post getting to the MB, spurious question marks were added into the text. These were definitely not in the original text.

Is this a fault with my computer, with the internet, or with the FTMB? Some techy-type may be able to comment.
Back to top
View user's profile 
ramonmercadoOffline
Psycho Punk
Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Total posts: 20615
Location: Dublin
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 10-10-2011 11:32    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is with the FTMB.

Go to:

1. Profile.

2. Click on all postings by Rynner.

3. Click on the message which wouldn't insert (it should be there).

4. Go back to latest postings and it should be there.
Back to top
View user's profile 
rynner2Offline
What a Cad!
Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Total posts: 25176
Location: Under the moon
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 10-10-2011 12:34    Post subject: Reply with quote

ramonmercado wrote:
The problem is with the FTMB.

Go to:
1. Profile.
2. Click on all postings by Rynner.
3. Click on the message which wouldn't insert (it should be there).
4. Go back to latest postings and it should be there.

I'll try that next time it happens. (Can't try it now, because all my posts are where they should be!)
Back to top
View user's profile 
rynner2Offline
What a Cad!
Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Total posts: 25176
Location: Under the moon
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 22-11-2011 08:42    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had more instances of the "spurious question marks" leading to this problem.

Just now "America’s $15trillion (£9.6trillion) government debt" (in the original article) became "America’s $15?trillion (£9.6?trillion) government debt", so the post (although made OK) came up with the dreaded "Could not insert..." message.

I edited the post to "America’s $15 trillion (£9.6 trillion) government debt" and it was accepted.
Back to top
View user's profile 
sherbetbizarreOffline
Great Old One
Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Total posts: 1713
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 23-04-2012 11:17    Post subject: Reply with quote

This just happened to me - for the first time - but the above solution worked fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website 
rynner2Offline
What a Cad!
Joined: 13 Dec 2008
Total posts: 25176
Location: Under the moon
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 25-11-2012 11:07    Post subject: Reply with quote

Recently I've had a couple more instances of "Could not insert..", but without any spurious questions marks or large sums of money being involved.

In both cases I went to the thread concerned, and found my post at the end of it, as expected. I then went to Edit, but I didn't actually do anything except Preview the post, and then re-post it. And it worked! WTF! Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile 
ramonmercadoOffline
Psycho Punk
Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Total posts: 20615
Location: Dublin
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 25-11-2012 11:56    Post subject: Reply with quote

rynner2 wrote:
Recently I've had a couple more instances of "Could not insert..", but without any spurious questions marks or large sums of money being involved.

In both cases I went to the thread concerned, and found my post at the end of it, as expected. I then went to Edit, but I didn't actually do anything except Preview the post, and then re-post it. And it worked! WTF! Rolling Eyes


Quantum mechanics, you just collapse the wave function and the cat hops out of the box alive.
Back to top
View user's profile 
MercuryCrestOffline
The Severed Head Of A
Joined: 24 Mar 2003
Total posts: 875
Location: Floating down the Ganges
Age: 34
Gender: Male
PostPosted: 26-11-2012 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just chiming in to say that the last few times I've tried to post, the first time I hit "submit", it takes me to an error page...I'll pay more attention to what the error says, but it's something along the lines of PHP BB error or something.

If I click the "back" button and hit "submit" again, it posts just fine.

Running the latest version of Firefox with a butt-ton of extensions, a number of which I've just disabled.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Fortean Times Message Board Forum Index -> Web site issues All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group