Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages 
Computing in a portable fashion
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Fortean Times Message Board Forum Index -> Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
YithianOffline
Keeping the British end up
Total posts: 11943
PostPosted: 19-01-2014 12:45    Post subject: Computing in a portable fashion Reply with quote

The time has come to replace my current LG laptop and I find that both hardware and software have leapt ahead during my two years of complete inattention. Chromebooks, macbooks, ultrabooks: I'm sure they all have pros and cons. SSD memory? I3/I5/I7 Vs AMD? Can anybody shed any light?

Anyway, I have the money for something relatively expensive (but not quite top of the range) although I've never used a non-Windows system before; that doesn't rule out alternatives, but it does mean I'd like some reassurance before buying one.

Requirements:
I use my computer intensively for office-type work, leisure and communication in multiple locations: battery life and reliability are important.

I don't play games, but do spend a lot of time moving around large files from place to place, hard-drive to hard-drive, and my current machine grinds to a virtual halt too often and prevents me doing much else while the job is being done.

I use my computer for a lot of (high quality) audio and video (but not modern games) and want a large and high-resolution screen. I have a couple of external hard-drives, but a fair size onboard hard-drive is also needed.

I'd be grateful for any recomendations. It's a minefield out there!
Pietro_Mercurios
Heuristically Challenged
PostPosted: 19-01-2014 13:41    Post subject: Reply with quote